Chris Essig

Walkthroughs, tips and tricks from a data journalist in eastern Iowa

Better map rollover option

with 2 comments

A month ago, I blogged about an attempt I made to use a new feature from Google Fusion Tables that allowed map makers to customize their maps based on mouse overs. The idea for users was you could rollover a point/state/census tract/whatever on a map and some some sort of data would pop up on that map. You also customize it so the polygon changes colors, polygon borders grow in size or whatever option you decide to use to let the reader know they have rolled over a particular object. I used it on a recent map of poverty rates in Iowa. The result worked but mouseover events seem delayed and clunky. Not so user friendly, especially if you have a slow Internet connection. So I looked for a new option.

What I found was this great library from NY Time’s Albert Sun for polygons and rollover effects. Granted, this takes much longer to put together. But the result is much smoother and user friendly IMO. I used it on a recent map of heroin rates in the U.S.

Here’s brief synopsis on how I put it together:

1. First I grabbed data from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health
Data Archive
 on reported heroin cases at substance abuse centers broken down by state. I then grabbed a shapefile from the U.S. Census bureau of each state in the U.S. This is the file that maps each state based on its boundaries.

2. The data related to drug cases from the SAMHDA was sorted by state and year. You can download individual spreadsheets of data for years 2009 and before. I downloaded spreadsheets for 2005 through 2009. I then pulled out the information I needed from each one and merged them, ending up with a final spreadsheet that had the following data for each state dating back to 2005: number people in who were admitted to a substance abuse treatment center for heroin, number of people who were admitted to a substance abuse treatment center for any drug and the percentage of people who were heroin users.

3. I first uploaded that final spreadsheet to Google Fusion Tables. I then uploaded the shapefile I downloaded into Google Fusion Tables using the AWESOME Shpescape tool. Important: Make sure you select “Create a Simplified Geometry column” under advanced options before you import the shapefile, otherwise it will be too big. Finally I merged the shapefile with the spreadsheet and ended up with this final table.

4. I exported that table into a KML (If you click Vizualize > Map, you’ll see the option to download a KML file) and converted that to a GeoJSON file using this Ogre web client. I only did this because the KML wasn’t working on Internet Explorer. Anyways, converting it into a GeoJSON file was a TOTAL PAIN IN THE ASS that required me to mess with the GeoJSON file much more than I wanted. Finally, I ended up with this GeoJSON File.

5. Now for the code. My final script is here. I’m not going to run through it all but will point out a few lines of note:

  • Line 179 brings in the JSON file. Underneath it are polygon highlighting options based on Albert Sun’s code. I have it set up so the opacity on the state polygons is light enough to see the state names underneath it when you first pull up the map. When you rollover a state, the polygons gets shaded in all the way and you can’t read the text underneath it (on the Google Map). But if you click a polygon, you can once again see the text. I also have a red border pop up when you rollover a state (strokeColor and strokeWeight).
  • Line 207 is the highlightCallback function. This creates a variable for each of line of data: number of heroin users, number of drug users, percentage, etc. for 2005 to 2009. It’s what you see under “Figures” in the DataTable on the map when you rollover a state. I first made each line a string by adding quotes to each variable.
  • Each variable is called into function selected_district (line 229). This function creates the Google DataTable via “new google.visualization.DataTable().” I’ve used this table in the past on a map for prep high school football teams. Check this past blog post for more information.
  • Line 255 is a function that puts in commas for numbers in the thousands…I didn’t make it. It’s freely available online. Please take it and use it as you see fit.
  • Line 107 to 154 is the legend.

Per usual, I used Colorbrewer to come up with the colors…

I’m happy with the resulting map and hope to use this polygon feature in the future. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment. I’d be more than happy to pass my limited amount of knowledge along to others.

Written by csessig

January 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice article. I tried to use Shpescape tool and it is not working. Did it work for you? What are the steps to make it work?

    Sai L

    April 18, 2012 at 11:42 am

    • Thanks for the message! I often hear from others that Shpescape either crashes or takes a while to upload shapefiles. And I’ve been trying to upload a shapefile for hours now with no luck. If it does ever work, make sure you are uploading zipped shapefiles. Basically, a shapefile is four different files (.dbf, .prj., .shp and .shx) that need to be together to work properly. If you have all those files in a folder, make sure you compress that folder into a zip file before you try to upload it to Shpescape. I believe shapefiles provided by the Census are already zipped…

      csessig

      April 19, 2012 at 3:20 pm


Leave a Reply

