Chris Essig

Walkthroughs, tips and tricks from a data journalist in eastern Iowa

It’s that time of year again…

leave a comment »

No, I’m not talking about March Madness. Or baseball spring season. Or the NHL playoffs, even. No, March is that special time of year for college students where we all must get our resumes, cover letters and Web sites together for those prospective internships or job openings. This semester is almost half way through, and after I’m finished, I won’t be attending school for the first time in 15 years. Scary.

Anyways, I have a new resume. Big deal. But I finally transferred it over to Adobe Illustrator (from inDesign), which I actually own. I should have done this long ago. But now that I have, I no longer have to rely on university Mac computer labs to edit my resume. That is certainly a sigh of relief.

I also have to edit my Flash Web site and develop a new cover letter. Conversely, I have edit this blog and all the other pages I operate. I like being all techy-savvy, but, boy, is it a pain editing every page…

Of course, the internship is long from over. But before I know it, I’ll be entering the “real world” unemployed and hungry for work. And no school to look forward to. It’s natural, but it’s still taking me by surprise.

Anyways, I’ve got to run. Be on the look out for big things in the near future. Hopefully.

Image posted by Flickr user Charles_Williams. It is used under a Creative Commons license.

Written by csessig

March 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

Leave a Reply

