Chris Essig

Walkthroughs, tips and tricks from a data journalist in eastern Iowa

Housekeeping matters

leave a comment »

1. So I’m finally switching over to Gmail after almost ten years with Hotmail. I checked my account information, and I opened up my Hotmail account on March 13, 2000, at the ripe age of 13. I really should have made this transition long ago because Gmail is just fantastic. But a few things caused me to cave in just now:

  • Google groups. I’ve been invited to two just this week, and they are so simple but effective.
  • Google Buzz. I haven’t really used this capability yet but it seems full of potential.
  • Chat. I have used chat in the past and it’s great.
  • Organization. All e-mails in Gmail and their replies are keep in the same thread, making navigation and organization incredibly easy.
  • MSN stagnation. Hotmail hasn’t changed it’s outlook significantly in 10 years. Think about that for a second.
  • iGoogle. I use Google Maps, Google Reader, Google Docs, Google Calendar and Google News, which all can be conveniently organized using iGoogle. Why not just complete the package?
  • Google. It’s just better.

My new account is csessig@gmail.com.

As expected, the transition will take a lot of time and probably cause some headaches along the way. But I think the switch will be for the better.

2. The transition has caused me to change my pages on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and the list goes on and on and on. And that doesn’t include all the e-mail subscriptions that I’ve gathered over the years…Of course, I’ve also had to tweak my web page slightly. But the biggest change I’ve made to the site today is adding a link to Publish2. A quick look:

For those journalists out there that haven’t yet heard of Publish2, go take a look. It’s basically a social networking web site for journalists (think Delicious), and, more importantly, a great tool to organize all of your newspaper clips from the Internet. It even has a toolbar add-on for Firefox, making it even easier to link pages to your Publish2 web page.

One of the most strenuous aspects of job hunting is finding the appropriate clips for the job. Of course, some clips will work better for some positions. Others won’t. This web site makes it incredibly easy to keep track of those clips, allowing journalists to fluidly go through them later. Seriously, go check it out.

And that’s it for the housekeeping matters. Useful posts coming soon.

Written by csessig

February 23, 2010 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

